Programme

Programme overview for the 2021 PPCA Summit.

Programme
Programme

Tuesday 2 March 2021

11:00 - 13:00 New York / 16:00 – 18:00 London / 00:00 - 2:00 Beijing

High-level Plenary

The high-level opening plenary session highlights the countries, regions, cities and businesses actively working to accelerate the global coal-to-clean energy transition. It features top-level public officials from across the world, discussing action to spur on clean growth and climate protection through the rapid phase-out of unabated coal power and announcing new commitments to keep the goal of limiting warming to 1.5C within reach.

Wednesday 3 March 2021

04:15 – 5:30 New York / 9:15 – 10:30 London / 17:15 – 18:30 Beijing

Interactive session 1: Policy Dialogue: Cost-efficient and sustainable pathways for meeting future power demand 

In partnership with the Government of Germany and Carbon Tracker Initiative

Last year, several countries announced to review their plans for meeting future power demand in a cost-efficient, reliable and sustainable manner, including a reduced role of coal.  Participants of this policy dialogue session are invited to share their experiences in driving this kind of changes in the political economy and managing these planning processes in the power sector.

8:00 – 10:00 New York / 13:00 – 15:00 London / 21:00 – 23:00 Beijing

Interactive session 2: Electricity Grid Transition from Coal to Clean

In partnership with Pembina Institute and National Grid

Accelerated coal exit entails a transformation of the electricity sector – from one dominated by centralized fossil fuel generation to a flexible system with diverse generation sources. This session is for policy makers who are concerned about the provision of reliable and cost-effective power as the grid transitions, and for grid operators, regulators and utilities who are working on technical and regulatory solutions to address such concerns. It examines best practices in infrastructure and generation asset investments, clean energy technology integration, grid operation and regulatory and market design.

11:00 – 12:00 New York / 16:00 – 17:00 London / 00:00 – 1:00 Beijing

Interactive session 3: Transitioning Financial Flows from Coal to Clean Energy

In partnership with the Governments of France and the Netherlands, and CCLA Investment Management

More and more financial institutions recognize the business case for moving away from coal. Through the PPCA Finance Taskforce, underpinned by the PPCA Finance Principles, finance and government members and partners of the PPCA are working together to cease new investments in coal-fired power, phase out existing coal capacity and boost investments in clean energy. During this session, find out from leading financial institutions, including new PPCA members, how to successfully move away from investing in coal at an institutional, technical and systemic level.

Thursday 4 March 2021

03:30 – 4:30 New York / 8:30 – 9:30 London / 16:30 – 17:30 Beijing

Interactive session 4: Opportunities of the Race to Net-Zero - Perspectives from the EU and Asia

In partnership with the Government of Denmark and Bloomberg Philanthropies

2020 was a landmark year for climate ambition, with carbon neutrality pledges made by major economies across the world. For many countries, phasing-out coal is the critical first step on the journey towards carbon neutrality, but it is not without challenges and often requires policy intervention. This session, featuring speakers from both the public and private sector in the EU and APAC region, provides an opportunity to share plans and experiences for successfully achieving intermediary coal closure targets until 2030, as a stepping stone for established 2050 net-zero targets.

9:00 – 10:40 New York / 14:00 – 15:40 London / 22:00 – 23:40 Beijing

Interactive session 5: Just Transition in action – a labour perspective

In partnership with the Just Transition Centre

The transition from unabated coal to clean energy must be inclusive and firmly rooted in social dialogue with workers and their unions, government and employers. This is all the more imperative in light of the current pandemic and the subsequent global economic crisis and job losses. Just Transition must be included in planning for a green recovery. This session  features perspectives from trade unions and their social partners who are at the forefront of a just and inclusive transition. 

11:00 - 12:45 New York / 16:00 – 17:45 London / 00:00 – 1:45 Beijing

Interactive session 6: Exploring Financial Mechanisms for Early Coal Retirement

In partnership with Rocky Mountain Institute

Coal is no longer the cheapest way to power the global economy. Analysis by Rocky Mountain Institute, the Carbon Tracker Initiative, and Sierra Club shows the share of uncompetitive coal plants globally is expected to increase rapidly, from 39% today to 60% in 2022 and 73% in 2025. This session brings together representatives from governments, utilities, labour advocacy groups, and multilateral organizations, as well as technical and financial sector experts, to discuss the application of financial mechanisms that can support an economic and just transition from coal to clean energy.